Valley of the Kings

Valley of the Kings

King Tutankhamun Tomb - Valley of the Kings - Egypt Tours Portal
Want create site? Find Free WordPress Themes and plugins.

What is the Valley of the Kings?

Valley of the Kings, Arabic Wādī Al-Mulūk, also called Valley of the Tombs of the Kings or Arabic Wādī Bībān al-Mulūk, is one of the most remarkable archaeological destinations in the world and the burial ground of the new kingdom(1570-1070 BC) pharaohs while The Pyramids of Giza and the Nile Delta were the tombs of the pharaohs of Egypt’s the Old Kingdom. The royal tombs are adorned with scenes from Egyptian mythology to give us background about to the beliefs and rituals of the period. Almost all of the tombs seem to have been opened and robbed through the history, but they still give an idea of the luxury and power of the Pharaohs. In 1979, it became a World Heritage Site.

Where is Valley of the Kings Located?

The valley is a long narrow defile located in the west bank of the Nile river at Luxor city. The valley consists of two valleys, west valley and east valley where the majority of the royal tombs are placed.

What is the History of Valley of the Kings?

For nearly five hundred years from the sixteenth to the eleventh century BC, rock-cut tombs were excavated for the Pharaohs and powerful nobles of the New Kingdom.

Valley of the Kings also contains tombs of favorite nobles as well. Therefore, only about 20 of the tombs actually contain the remains of kings like Rameses (I, II, III, IV, V, VI, VII, IX, X), Hatshepsut, Amenhotep I, and the famous young king Tutankhamun. The first pharaoh to be buried in the Valley of the Kings was Thutmose I and the last was Rameses X.

Valley of the Kings contains at least 63 tombs that vary in size. Unfortunately, most of the tombs were looted thousands of years ago and the treasure was stolen by thieves. But the artwork on the walls, however, allowed archaeologists to learn a lot about the lives of the Pharaohs and other leaders who were buried there. The one tomb that was discovered with much of the treasure and tomb still intact was that of Tutankhamun.

What are the Most Famous Attractions in Valley of the Kings?

The most famous tomb in the Valley of the Kings belongs to Pharaoh Tutankhamun.

Sometimes called King Tut. It was discovered in 1922 by Howard Carter. The tomb was packed with amazing artifacts including King Tut’s fully preserved mummy, a gold mask, and a solid gold inner coffin and gold mask. Tut is uniquely important discovery because the mummy of the young king was intact which gave us a detailed insight into the life and death of a pharaoh in the new kingdom.

King Tuthmse III Tomb

King Tuthmse III Tomb - Valley of the Kings - Egypt Tours Portal
King Tuthmse III Tomb – Valley of the Kings – Egypt Tours Portal

The tomb of King Tuthmse III was buried at the far end of the East Valley and his tomb is one of the oldest. The oval-shaped chamber is decorated with decoration and stick figures expressing the journey to the afterlife.

King Ramesses III‘s Tomb

The tomb of King Ramesses III’s Contains the famous paintings of two blind harpists. King Amenhotep I tomb taught us it was a common practice to built his tomb closer to the river. It’s likely that this practice of separation was a move to prevent the ransacking of their final resting places and the destruction of their legacy.

King Ramesses VI Tomb

King Ramesses VI Tomb - Valley of the Kings - Egypt Tours Portal
King Ramesses VI Tomb – Valley of the Kings – Egypt Tours Portal

The tomb of King Ramesses VI has a magnificent burial chamber, the ceiling of which is decorated with images of the sky goddess Nut swallowing and giving birth to the sun.

Visit our Best Egypt Tour Packages and choose your fantastic journey to Egypt to discover these marvelous archaeological sites, witness the best tourist attractions in Egypt through a magical Nile Cruise along the Nile Valley, enjoy the vacation you deserve in the land of pharaohs.

Did you find apk for android? You can find new Free Android Games and apps.